RANTS ABOUT ARSENAL! Post-Schalke, Pre-QPR

Before I go into today’s rant.. Barka Da Sallah! to all our celebrating Gooners! May you celebrate many many more Sallahs in good health and prosperity, In sha’Allah. Amin

Back-to-back defeat.

I have no idea where to start from. This will be a very formless post. Like the topic says, it’s majorly me ranting.

Bear with me.

After the defeat on Wednesday, I tried to console myself with the fact that all of Madrid, Man City, Milan and Chelsea also lost their matchday 3 games.

I also tried to console myself that almighty Barca almost dropped points, and that Man Utd wouldn’t have come back from 2 goals down against Schalke, and that if we were the ones 2 goals down against Braga, we’d still win the game.

But all these consolations don’t help me.

It’s like, there’s a trend the team has been following for the past few seasons.

We either start well, then crumble when the race heats up. Or start badly, then pick up when its too late to catch up.

This season however, already feels like a mixture of both scenarios. We started well, then we started badly. Either way, our season is not looking good at all. I sincerely hope this seasons end better than the past 7 ones. (I know, I know, I’m being melodramatic)

Some more faithful fans would say, “Hey, we’re just 6 games into the season, our opponents will drop points, watch and see“… Errrm, I know that, Chelsea will drop points, Man Utd will lose games, Man City will go on a bad run, but so will Arsenal! So let’s start facing some reality here, eh?

To tomorrow’s game now.

We play QPR tomorrow. And I’m worried. I’m worried because, when we play these teams that are on a bad patch, on a losing streak, they somehow manage to end their losing streak, then they play Wigan the next week and continue their losing streak. Its baffling! And it occurs too often. Truth is, despite their bad run, QPR have many players that can hurt us if we continue to play the same way we’ve played in our last two games.

Good thing is we have players that can hurt them too. Hurt them more than they can hurt us, but the team needs to wake the sugar (I stopped swearing) up!

I can’t even lie. I’m not too confident about tomorrow’s game. I know I’m sounding all doomy and gloomy now, but don’t blame me. Yes, I’m fickle. I’m a fan.

When I look at the team, its like we’re back on the inglorious path we’ve been towing.

We’re back to having players on our payroll that Wenger doesn’t trust or even if he trusts them, they can’t/don’t/won’t bring anything to the team.

We’ve started to play round pegs in square holes. Ramsey as a right winger? Come on!

All the things we successfully managed in the past trophyless  seasons appear to be back to haunt us.

As a pro-Wenger guy, I won’t blame Wenger just yet! It’s the players I have problems with, I just need these players to step up their games. If not for the fan’s sake, at least they should step up for the Manager that keeps putting all his faith in them’s. Blindly, if I may say. I’m tired of seeing players play like there’s nothing to lose. Like we’re still in pre-season.

I’m just here, ranting today. Maybe because I’ve not had any salah meat to eat, or maybe because Arsenal matter don reach rant matter. I dunno.

As a fan, I really hope this team steps up over the course of the season. I hope I’d be ashamed of the post by the end of the season. I don’t mind the shame. Lets just step up!

But what I hope isn’t what I think will happen.

What do I think will happen? Against QPR? I hope we win.

And I sincerely hope a win here would turn our season around. We still have serious fighting chance in all the cups we’re in. I hope the players and the managers have the fight in them. Because, it’s been a very very very very long time since I’ve seen a Wenger team play like a team that has fight in them. I really hope so.

Let me talk a little about the game.

Saviour, please save us

Its annoying when people just keep insisting Wenger starts Jack Wilshere. Or they allude that if Wilshere had started the last two games, we might have won them.

I like Jack Wilshere, but please please please.

These same people would be the ones to ask Wenger to sub Jack tomorrow when his match rustiness is exposed.

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against starting Jack tomorrow, but lets not assume he’s the savior that’ll stop us from conceding those cheap goals, or help us become more forthcoming in front of goals. No, he’s not the Messiah.

As per injuries, Most of the injured players are still out, so we still have a stretched squad. So, we’ll be expecting a starting line up of… I don’t even care.

Just get on the pitch and make QPR go back empty handed.

See you after the game all.

*sigh*

 

P.S: I wonder why the sugar (Like I said, I stopped cussing) they were all shining teeth in training? The situation wey we dey, na laughing matter?

About gunnerdebo

Ardent Gooner...

Posted on October 27, 2012, in Arsenal, Arsenal News, English, Injury News, Match Preview, Match Report, Pidgin English, Tactics and Technicalities, The Gunners. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hahaha! I love a good ol’ rant!
    I really can’t put my fingers on what went wrong in the last two games, and I’m looking forward to see how we will play tomorrow.
    Like I said earlier, we can’t realistically compete for the title this season: Top 4 and a cup trophy is all I ask for. Then WE SHOULD NOT FRIGGING SELL OUR BEST PLAYERS NEXT SUMMER….and while at it, can I ask for world peace also? Beggars and horses.

  2. Same to you brother! A blessed Eid in sha’ Allah. Today is a must win!! Damn I was so disappointed in these last 2 defeats to the point of de activating my fb account!!

  3. I swear mehn my sentiments exactfuckingly!!

  4. 😥 Ramsey as a right winger. Le Head and Walcott must have pissed off Wenger so much for Ramshit to keep starting ahead of them in an obviously ‘out of position’ position #ArseneKnows

Leave a comment